Orion

20 10 2010

This morning was the first frost of the season at Three Chimneys, and as I let the dog out to scombre in the garden I looked up at Orion, blazing down on me, the town around me still, no wind in the trees, that crackling hush of icy air and distance upon distance, concentric layers of cold stretching away from the warm house, and I was glad of home and hearth.

In my work as a witch I often focus on the simple, on removing encumbrances and working again with the most basic ideas and items. During my tenure as a Christian I was often stuck by the layers of obfustication, of difficulty, set on purpose between man and god; there can be no greater dishonesty (or arrogance) than proclaiming yourself the voice of god, or his representative on earth. I think of Jesus saying, ‘no-one comes to the Father except through me’ and I wonder. Mediated worship, whether led by a god or a man, cannot help but dilute the message.

This is the central tenet I return to again and again in my study of my craft. All the bells, whistles, altars, robes, music, degrees of initiation and lineages in the world, and what does it come back to in the end? You, the god, your conscience and their message. Shut up, put down the wand that cost you £60 from that great little shop in Glasto, take off the Stevie Nicks fancy-dress, put down the Silver Ravenwolf yada-crap, stop worrying about getting into that select little coven and what they think of you and are you good enough and whether they think you’re a ‘serious’ witch, and listen. Listen for the still small voice. It’s there – listen.

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 10 2010
Abdur Rahman

Peace Green Witch,

It’s lovely to have you back in the blogosphere again. A short, yet very searching piece here, with all sorts of points for joint exploration.

You are, of course, right on the money when you highlight the dangers of someone posing as the ‘voice of God’. Not only can it obscure the essential relationship between the individual themselves and divinity, it can also place the supposed mouthpiece in a dangerous position: that is, the temptation to represent oneself as God is strong.

On the other hand, coming as I do from a religious tradition which has a strong notion of enlightened individuals, prophets and messengers, there are important differences – or at least I perceive them to be so. In the case of Muhammad and Jesus (God’s peace be with them both), perhaps there is a difference between someone claiming such a role, and what they then go on to do with it. From my own understanding, the central purpose of the prophets was to teach us about relationship with the divine, rather than to aggrandise themselves. This is, moreover, leaving aside the question of what later followers/interpreters/religious hierarchies do with these claims.

I have meditated on the words of Jesus you quote for a long time. Perhaps prophets are better understood as gateways to divinity, expressed in different circumstances, places and contexts, rather than being ‘there’ themselves so to speak.

Sorry if this seems a bit disjointed. 😦

I had to laugh when you said ‘Stevie Nicks fancy dress’….LOL

Blessed be

20 10 2010
The Green Witch

Peace, Abdur ~

As always, a voice of calm in a whirling rush! I like what you approach in your third paragraph. The essential distinction between those posing as the ‘real thing’ and those just trying to do a good job of interpretation. I forget, sometimes, the awefulness of god – that there is simply nothing that a human can do to understand the breadth and depth and brightness there. That, in some traditions, mediation is desirable, or indeed necessary.

Blessings,

TGW

20 10 2010
Nellie

Well said! For me the WHOLE POINT of being pagan is that I don’t need to fit in.

…Something I’m also really interested in myself if where Jesus fits into Paganism, so I’ll look forward to hearing more of your thoughts….

So glad to see you back by the way! I was keeping my fingers crossed that you would reappear and so you have!
Nellie x

20 10 2010
Sileny

Glad you’re back! I enjoy reading your posts, even though I don’t always comment.

What you have expressed are the reasons why I have moved away from the faith into which I was born. I like being a solitary witch, since it’s hard for me to really open up when there are people around me. The rituals and meditations feel more personal when it’s just me before nature.

There are other reasons, too. My family is Catholic and the Church’s antiquated stances (like on women), hypocritical stance on sex, and protective stance on paedophilic priests further drove me away.

21 10 2010
louisey

Lovely Orion the Hunter — are you able to see the Orionid meteor shower from about 21 October?

We spend summers under the Southern Cross —

Mary starwatching in Africa

Leave a Reply

