Lunch in a Church

26 01 2010

Yesterday to lunch with The Tattooed Witch, to a local church which has a fantabulous cafe as part of its fabric. The church still functions perfectly well as a space for worship – some might say better, beacuase the lure of coffee, cakes and relaxed chat encourages people in. The church is warm, with plenty of wood and bright spaces, yet still calm and serene and full of respectful hush. I don’t know how this works as well as it does, but it’s a winning combination.

I reeled in breathless with the cold, and sat down for a moment on the wooden bum-warmer that runs along the edge of the cafe between it and the nave. I saw TW reeling in similar fashion, in through the glass door, cheeks pink and eyes bright from the bitter wind. Big hugs and then to the menu, and we grabbed potato and spinach curry, dhal and rice which was utterly delicious and the perfect soul food. Lashings of mango chutney. Mmmmm. Then down to the little annexe where there was an exhibition of some really quite clunky and awful local artwork. But endearing, in a sort of way. There was one lovely pic of a couple of roosters, done in bright colours and thick acrylic – witty and gracefully done. I resisted!

There’s nothing quite like sitting over food and gossiping with kindred spirits. Our lunch gave us both a shot in the arm – I was quite ridiculously chipper and upbeat all day. Roll on our next date – and she’s going to sew the errant pompoms back on the scarf she made me for Christmas too. Blessed girl!

Actions

Information

4 responses

26 01 2010
Abdur Rahman

Peace Green Witch

Just stopped by to say hello. Glad to see you blogging again. God willing, I’ll be back.

Blessed be…..

Abdur Rahman

26 01 2010
The Green Witch

Peace Abdur – great to see you once more! How are you? I’ll come visit x

12 03 2010
kids quran

You are doing a great job I liked reading you blog and I loved keep on the good work on I don’t know if I have said it already or not but great work tack care thank you

23 03 2010
Miss D

I stumbled upon your blog not too long ago. I like your style. I hope to hear more from you again. Check out my blog. I left something for you there 🙂

Leave a Reply

