Directed Rage

22 09 2008

Anger as a positive emotion is not something we normally associate with successful witchcraft, but I’m starting to think it’s an untapped resource. Recently, a number of themes have been coalescing; and one seems to be anger; pure, white-hot, constructive, righteous, organised, intelligent, open-eyed fury.

I’ve seen this manifesting itself recently around the blogosphere – boleskine93 discusses it here while drawing a line in the sand, directing a ‘thus far and no further’ to himself and those who would seek to bring him down, an attitude I heartily agree with and second him on.

Seshat and I worked with it at the Autumn Equinox yesterday, and I think that a great part of the motive power behind the success of the ritual was anger. Beweaver thinks it through in this post about the terrible wrongs being done to the ecology of Alaska, now coming to light through scrutiny of the Palin woman’s dash for the White House.  Others I know use anger to great effect in their mundane and spiritual lives.

I myself have been making much use of anger in the last few months. It has got me up and out of the door many times beyond counting. It has helped me re-establish parameters on some of my most complex and difficult interpersonal relationships. It has kept my heart out of the doldrums. It has meant I have power and strength enough to support others who need me.

This is not corrosive, betraying, undermining, murderous anger; it’s fruitful, clean, bright, sharp, decisive and dispassionate. Directed, not emotionally directed. Calm and wide-eyed with knowledge and understanding, therefore effective.

Anger is an emotion much shied-away from by humans. We are frightened of hurting others with it, as well as ourselves; we turn it inwards and it manifests itself as illness, headaches, futility, depression, hopelessness and disempowerment. If only we could build with it, grow with it, understand and use it for positivity and good. It’s one of the most dynamic emotions, one of the most potent in power, one of the liveliest. If anger is the Achilles’ Heel of the human emotional range, wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could transmogrify it into rocket fuel, a means by which we fly?

Well, what’s to say I haven’t done so already?

Actions

Information

20 responses

22 09 2008
naufragiobella

Well, the moon is still in the right phase for some balancing. (evil grin) Love and hugs from across the big pond.

22 09 2008
starofseshat

Yes and YES again. BUT I’m striking out slightly differently to you; I am now not afraid to unleash my inner Gorgon to swipe certain people out of the way. I am FED UP with rolling over and playing dead – and you should be too. Do you really think that these people would think twice about oppressing you and beating you physically, emotionally or psychically? What are we then going to do? Play dodgeball for the rest of our lives? Sometimes walking away from a situation is not enough – or we find ourselves repeating the same dodge-avoid tactics over and over again, because that person just won’t stop. Sometimes a well placed punch would just finish the situation.
CAN YOU TELL THAT I’M ANGRY!!!
You know why, my love. I am mounting my charger – say the word and I shall grab my spear and skewer the bitch.

22 09 2008
The Green Witch

Both of you – brilliant work. I love this!!!

My take is that those who seek to fuck with me get their malpractice gently returned to them, and then they get my back. I don’t walk away, I’m still there, but they’re no longer visible. It’s them that have gone.

Of course, the judiciously aimed left hook works too. But it’s just so messy! 😛

22 09 2008
starofseshat

Messy is good. What’s wrong with messy? Have you never rolled around in a mud puddle? I’ll do the messy stuff, you get a bath and towel ready for me 🙂

22 09 2008
The Green Witch

Naughty rabbit 😉

22 09 2008
fox

I’m a bit lost in this, but if someone is messing with you lady, you can count me in on your side. I may be a long ways from you physically, but I’m right there in spirit.

22 09 2008
boleskine93

I love this. And I know you’ve read my formal Declaration of War. RETRIBUTION: It’s what’s for dinner…

22 09 2008
The Green Witch

Fox, I love you for writing this; it’s not about sides though. I believe someone is trying to mess with me. Bad luck for them, they’ve failed. I’m not even sure why they want to mess with me – but they won’t get a second chance, let me tell you xx

22 09 2008
The Green Witch

Boleskine – retribution for dinner, with smiting and lamentation for dessert. Menu of champions!

22 09 2008
starofseshat

Oh, no. I’m allergic to lamentation. Could I have a slice of “up yours” instead?

22 09 2008
The Green Witch

Icecream, cream or custard? 🙂

22 09 2008
beweaver

Amen sister! I have found anger to be a very cleansing emotion. And taking a lot of flak for expressing it as long as it needed to be expressed.

All of our emotions are there to serve us and they serve us well when we decide they are our friends and look for healthy and productive ways to use them. I’ve made some of my best protection charms and powders with the power of anger.

22 09 2008
beweaver

Oh Seshat~

You ask a very good question. “Do you really think that these people would think twice about oppressing you and beating you physically, emotionally or psychically?”

If they hadn’t done so already we wouldn’t be so bleeding mad. It’s good to stand up to it and not worry about what others think when dealing with the power of anger. As long as we don’t do direct harm to someone else, deserving or not, then it is a good thing. And who am I to talk. I know that on my blog I did direct harm to Narcissus but he wouldn’t have been so hurt if my spear of words hadn’t made a direct hit. Maybe one day he/she/they will see their own part in it all.

In the meantime be as angry as is needed I say. Depression is anger turned inward and we can’t be having any of that.

22 09 2008
starofseshat

Yes, to all of the above. You know I’m not one for half-measures! 😉

23 09 2008
The Green Witch

Yes to the above also. I’ve spent a goodly part of my life being a door mat and assuming that, when people are upset with me, it’s my fault. Sometimes, it certainly IS my fault. But not all the time.

Now is the time to stand there, like Boleskine, and say, no, that’s eNUFF.

23 09 2008
Mary LA

Anger can be such a powerful emotion to work with, I love these posts.

But it remains an uncomfortable emotion to stay with, in part because it is by its nature uncontained and very intense. I can only work with focused anger briefly before it exhausts me. Maybe that is why joking is such a good way of lightening up and defusing those energies.

Sometimes I find too that lurking beneath the most justified and political or self-protectve anger there is enormous grief about injustice — my fury at what is being done to the environment, for example, holds a very deep sorrow and anguish —

And sometimes I use anger to hold vulnerability at bay, until I am safe enough to let myself feel vulnerable…

Love to you my allies

23 09 2008
The Green Witch

Lovely girl, I couldn’t agree more. Anger does tire me and bring me down somewhat, despite its life-giving properties. Joking forms a calm and positive way out of the focus anger creates. And makes one less focussed on the injustice perceived!

24 09 2008
starofseshat

Personally I am finding anger hugely invigorating – like being whipped with willow twigs before leaping into an icy lake … (am I sharing too much? Lol). I believe that anger can be contained and that is when it is a source of power and energy. If you don’t have control over it then yes it can wreak havoc and exhaust you as it blows through your mind and soul.
I think we are often unhelpfully frightened of anger. I for one am scared of anger in other people (at least I used to be, as I latch into my own inner power, I feel more equal to defend myself) … for me the inverse of anger has been fear. I am not going to be afraid any more. But I have spent my entire life releasing and harnessing the anger. Unless you have looked into the face of your own anger and been scared TO DEATH, then I don’t think it’s possible to really control it. I have done this. I have huge respect for those who still feel too fragile to open themselves up (yet) to the inner Gorgon. Free expression of anger isn’t for everyone. We each have our own paths, and our own ways of dealing with what life throws at us … no one way is better than the other. If you (generic you, not a ‘you’ in particular) have survived thus far you are doing bloody well.

25 09 2008
Andy

My goodness, what a lot of comments your posting has generated!

I think the key to this is in your header – it’s about directing the emotion. I think it’s also about understanding it, as one can’t direct it otherwise! Anger has always been an emotion that caused me problems over the years, probably due to what I would call emotional abuse when I was a child – but I have grown to see its value and worth, especially in the hands of the Adept.

I think it also feeds how we look after ourselves, our own protection, etc.

This also shows what it means to be truly spiritual and magickal, it’s not so much about being kind hearted as being firm minded! Hmm, or may be a combination of both!

29 09 2008
The Green Witch

Andy, I think I know what you might be driving at here. Undirected anger can be enormously destructive; it nearly always seems to rebound on the person that feels it. Kind heart, firm mind, sureness of purpose and a will to say ‘no’ helps to direct the anger outward and into its most useful and fruitful manifestation. Essential work, really; or we’d burn up in the power of it, for no purpose.

Leave a Reply

