Enforced Rest

29 07 2008

Given that I am immobile, temporarily, after a brief visit to the hospital yesterday (wisdom teeth – there went my extra IQ points!) I thought I’d settle in for a real good rant today. It’ll help take my mind off the aggers and torters.

I may be being highly uncharitable, but there’s a great deal of garbage out there in book form. I spend a good proportion of my yearly disposable income on books, and with noted exceptions I might as well have burned the money. Now, even a bad book can be instructive; even a rehash of some old bull-hockey can tell you something, if only about yourself. However, for personal discovery I have other methods, cheaper methods, than finding myself at 10pm with a book newly purchased and already about to be luzzed across the room bin-wards.

I find myself losing both patience and the will to live.

Don’t get me the wrong way, here; I haven’t seen the world and decided that I can do better. No. This elementary mistake can be someone else’s to make. I could write a book, but really, where’s the inducement, when the book-buying public in witchcraft and associated paths (self included) seems to be so undiscerning?

OK, deep breath. Go take a pill.

I’ve dedicated the rest of the afternoon to attempting to read, for the third and final time, a newly published book, a book which should be supremely important to the readers out there, given its subject matter, which has made only the slightest and least favourable impression on me. If I haven’t got it by the end of this read, then its time is up. I’ll let you know.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

21:31hrs. Straight to the back of the shelf. NEXT!!

Actions

Information

10 responses

29 07 2008
Tess

Oh dear! I haven’t read widely in witchcraft, but what I have read has indeed been – variable would be the kindest adjective.
Why not write a book yourself? Doesn’t sound like a crazy idea to me.
Meantime, look after yourself and your missing teeth. I had that done some years ago and it’s not pleasant, although my vanity suffered the most when I looked at my swollen jaw in the mirror.

29 07 2008
The Green Witch

Haha! I’m not quite there yet. Still a few furrows to plough, but thank you for the thought! My poor teef are shuffling along in my jaw now – I’m glad they’ve got more room, at last, but the effects are a bit of a drag….

29 07 2008
fox

Oh, ouch! On both the teeth and the book. Neither are all that much fun either. I hear you on the lack of decent books out there. I probably don’t do nearly the looking and attempted reading that you do, but it has been a while since I got a book that wasn’t’ for purely entertainment purposes that was any good.

Get some good rest! {{{HUGS}}}

29 07 2008
The Green Witch

Thanks dear – I’ve just changed the sheets and they’re all cool and crisp! Of such things my days are made 🙂

29 07 2008
starofseshat

Funny 😉 I think I know the book you mean. It is currently half-read and propping up another pile of my books. I look at it askance like it’s tasteless medicine and something to be read cos it’ll be gud 4 me edukasion. But then other more enticing books beckon, and I think bugger the medicine and who needs education!?
I WILL finish it one day – even if it’s so we can reinstigate our book club and have dinner and review writing again 🙂
Seshat

29 07 2008
The Green Witch

Let’s choose something more toothsome to discuss over dinner – shall we?! I reckon our educashuns will benefit from other uses of our time here… 🙂

29 07 2008
Sabrina

Terribly frustrating, I’m sure, to find yourself plowing through dreck in print while nursing a sore jaw. Sort of like dropping a hammer on your foot in order to forget about your headache. Best wishes for a speedy recovery and some better reading material. 🙂
-Sabrina

30 07 2008
The Green Witch

Thank you, my dear S! I am fortunate – a kind friend has taken pity on me and sent me a pile of articles to read – proper, peer-reviewed intelligent articles! I’m tucked up for the day and looking forward to an interesting, informative, well-argued, properly spelled and referenced articlefest. And they’re on neo-pagan topics too. My cup runneth over! 🙂

31 07 2008
Mereth

LOL Sabrina, what a wonderful way to sum it up! I hope you’re feeling better today TGW?

31 07 2008
The Green Witch

Pretty pants, if truth be known! But soldiering on, and I’ve given up cooking and am enjoying sampling the finest prepared meals this town can provide. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

