The Emergence of Ability

2 07 2008

Since beginning to walk as a witch, it has amazed me how much my creative and expressive side has come to the fore. Nor do I think I’m alone in this; many friends and fellow-followers have shown me exquisite examples of beautiful arts and crafts that they have produced, sometimes surprising even themselves with their level of invention. I think this is one of the blessings of the Goddess.

In a current project with friends – about which, more anon, Goddess willing! – the fountains of invention, the ideas, the capableness, the articulacy, the enthusiasm and the teamwork are already outstanding. The confluence of ideas is seeming to make us more than the sum of our parts, if you see what I mean. It feels to me as if the individual skills and the abilities we bring to the table are being amplified and sharpened simply by our interaction. Another huge blessing.

This is such a force for good. And these are skills for life; they can be transferred into our mundane existence and used to the good of all, as well as the good of us ourselves.

I love my new-found interest in making and creation; when I see something that I have made, and it looks beautiful, I want to give it away to someone I love who will treasure it. In a way, I’m distilling drops of the new spirit I feel into things that can be held and carried. Spreading the wealth!

Actions

Information

12 responses

2 07 2008
fox

The wonder of gifting beauty and love is something that never ceases to amaze me and is truly one of my favorite things to do. It makes me all tingly and happy when others find that joy as well!

2 07 2008
Mereth

I have two things to say to you my dear Green Witch:

1) a massive thank you for the wonderfully crafted birthday gift – it is un-put-downable and as well as being really beautiful, it’s lovely to have something that you took the time and care to create.

2) When you’re working for the right cause and with the right people, you become an unstoppable force. The thing takes on a momentum of it’s own, and it just needs a gentle hand on the tiller.

Trouble is, when you start getting creative, it becomes addictive, but that’s no bad thing in my book! 😀

2 07 2008
The Green Witch

Fox, you and your crafty ladies were partly my inspiration, as you know – I just needed a push out of the door! 🙂

Mereth, I’m so glad you like it, and that it speaks to you – it did feel to be your kind of thing. I’m getting better at those kind of judgements! You’ve no idea the indecisiveness I went through over Seshat’s… strung, unstrung, fuss with the order. Swap the finials. Lordy!

I think the key is to go with the gut. 😛

3 07 2008
Andy

Oh dear – I can’t be Pagan after all!!!

I jest – but I really am not that creative, I just don’t seem to have the knack at all. I’ve tried making things in the past, but I have a catalogue of disasters trailing behind me!

I like to think that I can be creative with words, but that’s about it.

3 07 2008
The Green Witch

You’re not looking closely enough!

You sing, dress well, write beautifully and you garden. Do you cook? Because, if so, that’s 5 creative, expressive things you do!! And I’ve never even met you.

Anything else would just be icing on the cake, my friend. 🙂

4 07 2008
Andy

I can cook, but my partner tends to do most of the cooking.

You’re too kind, GW! Way too kind!

4 07 2008
The Green Witch

No, just realistic. I used to think I had no skills and was completely uncreative, unitl I read some lists written by friends of things they could do and realised I could do some of them too, and others I was keen to try!

7 07 2008
Arnametia

I would like to thank you from the bottom of my heart for my beautiful gift my dear friend.

I keep looking at it and find it hard to put down.
I echo all that you feel about crafting – its a wonderful feeling when someone loves your efforts as much as you loved creating it.

I will treasure my gift forever, it has a rightful place in my ‘witches chest’ with my other treasured possesions.
Thank you so much.

7 07 2008
The Green Witch

I’m so glad that you like it, and that it has suitability for you… it was quite hard, never having met you, to get the feeling right!!!! Now I have met you, I’m reassured that the choices were correct… really looking forward to seeing you again at the MG!!

4 08 2008
Becky Bee

You know what Green Witch, sounds like you’re such a busy person. Don’t forget to take some well earned R & R. Time out is always a good idea, especially when it’s a cuppa and natter with friends 🙂

5 08 2008
The Green Witch

Becky Bee, perceptive girl – I do find it hard sometimes to let myself rest, but I’m getting better at it. The urge to say, ‘Sod this, I want a drink and to put my feet up’ wins quite often now! I think this is a victory… 🙂

5 08 2008
Becky Bee

I think you’re right there GW. In fact, I’m just putting the kettle on now. I absolutely adore Earl Grey tea, shortbread biscuits and good company although my kettle’s on the blink! I’m not too sure how to go about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

