Litha 2008

13 06 2008

I haven’t written anything formal since I rewrote the Anglican ‘Thanksgiving for the Birth of a Child’ for my son’s blessing ceremony. Which was done in our local church, on an acre of ancient land, with barrows and 500-year-old yew trees all around. It’s a difficult compromise sometimes, between the entrenched religion and the one you choose for yourself;ย but I found this one easy to square. Others don’t like it; however, I’m not too bothered; I wasn’t fooling anyone, least of all the vicar. She liked what I wrote and felt happy to speak it aloud and that’s good enough for me.

Remembering this, it got me thinking about writing ceremonies, and how few of them I’ve attempted. I reckon I did an all right job on the Blessing; so I found myself two nights ago with open books all around, chewing the end of my metaphorical pencil and writing up our ceremony for Litha 2008.

It seems quite the best way to focus the mind on the issues at hand for each ceremony as the Wheel turns; and taking a leaf out of the book of LavenderBlue at WW, I intend to write a short descriptive piece about the sabbat and its traditional associations as an exercise – might even surprise myself! Meditation upon a theme can produce some fairly startling results if done properly. This is largely unexplored territory for me also, and I’d like to see where it leads.

ย 

Actions

Information

10 responses

13 06 2008
Andy

Exciting, GW! I’ve written a couple of ceremonies over the years. I remember writing a ritual for a man who wanted to ‘cut the ties’ of his past, and when we actually performed the ritual, it was such a powerful event. The man left transformed! When you give yourself to this, and, as you say, when they’re written from a base of meditation and prayer, they flow, and the results are amazing. Enjoy! Writing ritual is lovely!

14 06 2008
starofseshat

You’ve done a great job on the ritual, and I’m looking forward to working it on Saturday.

14 06 2008
Tess

I think this is really important. Only we know what particular words and actions mean to us. Sometimes the words of others seem to us beautiful, but sometimes the words get in the way, because they are not our own.

14 06 2008
The Green Witch

Andy – That sounds fantastic. Weren’t you nervous??!

Seshat, my love, you are kind – I’ll get it all onto cards and so forth. Pray for good weather!

Tess – I’ve always thought that one of the most reverencing things I can do as a witch is to use what few talents are mine to the glorification of my Deities. I felt the same when I was Christian. So, if I write something I love, it at one stroke praises my Goddess and God, and makes good use of the talents they gave me.

Perhaps I’m being naive! ๐Ÿ™‚

14 06 2008
Mereth

And there was I thinking you’d written something for Beltaine and I had been such a lame old wretch that I’d wasted your time! I hope your Litha goes wonderfully well for both of you – blessings xx

14 06 2008
The Green Witch

My goodness, I wouldn’t have sprung a new-minted ceremony on you to participate in unless you’d ‘proofed’ it first!! ๐Ÿ˜›

Thank you my dear – I really appreciate your words!

15 06 2008
shamrockwitch

So wonderful to be articulate- and write or rewrite-reword rituals. I seem to have abit of a block there- which is strange- English was a subject I excelled at and poetry- well I have a book full of my own. But rituals so far are straight from other peoples words with a little change here & there. I think it is probably my lack of confidence- need to go sit quietly and have a talk to myself. Good luck with Litha. Brightest Blessings.

15 06 2008
The Green Witch

Not too much of a talk – your writings come direct from your heart, and they are full of ‘you’. By that I mean there is a real consistency in them. It’s the sort of writing which makes you think you ‘know’ the person. So don’t make any dramatic changes SrW!

Have a wonderful Litha too, my dear.

15 06 2008
Andy

GW – yes, I was nervous to start with, but the words flowed. I ran them by the Priestess I was working with at the time, and the guy who wanted the ritual, and they loved it, and it really worked for him, Things just flowed that night, I look back on it as a very special time. I’ve not written my own for some time, but now the New Moon Ceremonies are starting to take of, I’m writing things again – well, part of them, as I like us all to play an active role in the evening.

16 06 2008
The Green Witch

More practice and we’ll all be flying! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

