Praying for Strength

30 05 2008

I just commented on a thread on Anchors and Masts about what God is good for – one of the things the Deities are good for, from my point of view, is to lend strength when it’s needed. Well, I need some!

My husband is leaving his current job; he’s been very unhappy for a number of years and now enough is enough. He’s had the chance of some work from a local company, but they’ve had to retrench after taking over another local firm and can’t offer him a package that he can accept. This doesn’t mean they’re not interested in him,  but for practical purposes he’s not got a job with them to go to.

He’s never really gone out and fought for a job before, and although I know he’s nervous he’s also very determined and his confidence is at a marriage-high as far as I can make out. I’ve never seen him so focused and it’s a great thing to watch.

I’m the one, stupidly, who is nervous. Not panicking – just nervous and worried. I need some power in my elbow to bat away these negative and unhelpful feelings!!

In the scheme of things I know without doubt that I am doing better than I would have done only a year ago. I have such confidence, renewed confidence, in my husband. I have seen depths to him I never knew existed, all brought about by adversity and trials he had never encountered before. Such a good result from a potentially unpleasant situation! It behooves us all to try to make the best of any downturns in our lives – there’s always a crumb of learning to be gleaned, no matter how hopeless things look.

So on we go with the job hunting! Who knows where we’ll end up. Exciting stuff!

Actions

Information

18 responses

30 05 2008
Mereth

Well, now I have decided that I’m unlikely to do more than spend the Saturday at Wessex, I shall get my bum into gear and do what I said I’d do.

30 05 2008
The Green Witch

Only if you’re sure you have a gap in your schedule – although I freely admit we’d be extremely grateful for your assistance!

Dom’s mislaid the ticket for the paté…. 😦 So we’ll get more when we see you and buy you some from here as a paté pro quo!)

30 05 2008
Mereth

Eeeeewwwwww! The Post Office must whiff a bit by now, that’s been sitting there for well over a week and it’s been warm. The pate may have been vacuum sealed, but I wouldn’t want to risk it so best let it moulder off to pate heaven and visit the rubicund Ivan when you’re here next. Kim can still give you the number of the ticket if you want it, but…

Bugger – no! You have to go and get it or they will send it back to us I’ll get Kim to hunt the number out.

30 05 2008
The Green Witch

Thanks dear. I know we’re utterly crap. We’ll go get it tomorrow!! 🙂

30 05 2008
Mereth

OK, have made a start and now waiting for gaps to be filled in so I can refine and improve…

30 05 2008
fox

Hugs to you all, dear! As crazy as it all is right now, things WILL work out for the better. Who knows, you may even end up over here! 😉 I know I wouldn’t mind.

30 05 2008
The Green Witch

Mereth – just fired it back to you – you’re a genius!

Fox – stranger things have happened – and keep talking about a visit – because I want to come see you. Tell you what, I won’t let you cook while I canoodle on the porch!

Everyone should do one mad thing in their lives. I’ve done a mad thing, and now want to do another one! 🙂

30 05 2008
Mereth

Revision two in your inbox!

30 05 2008
The Green Witch

I honestly don’t know what we’d do without you on this matter. Thank you!

30 05 2008
Mereth

I’m just sorry it took so long to get started. 😀

30 05 2008
fox

TGW, where are the Depends when I need them?! Since Mereth is now on the “has to visit the states” list for her son, you can both come! That way we can all take a break and relax!

30 05 2008
Tess

I know exactly how you feel. My sister’s looking for work at the moment having been made redundant, and she’s similarly focused and fired up. I’m the one who’s nervous for her. I think it’s something to do with control issues!!
And yes I agree, being able to relax into the strength of our God/dess is companionship indeed.

30 05 2008
The Green Witch

Mereth – it didn’t !! Suddenly, when he needs it, he’s got what he needs! Sounds like exactly at the right time to me – he’s honestly utterly blown away and thrilled with it!

Foxy – Nothing I’d like more, my dear!

Tess – control issues – yes!! This is it. A year ago I’d have been feeling as though I had to solve the problem – whereas all I need to do actually is support the hubster so he can solve it. A very good point!

30 05 2008
The Green Witch

And Tess, I am hoping your sis finds her perfect job really soon!

31 05 2008
Andy

Just to let you know that I’m with you in this, GW. Whilst my job isn’t at risk at the moment, it has changed around me and it’s no longer the position I applied for. I would welcome change, but there’s also the nervousness of moving from something you know into something new. I love the way you talk about your husband and the bonds of love and respect are evident, and that’s a joy to read. I will be thinking of you both at New Moon, the time of new beginnings.

31 05 2008
The Green Witch

Thank you, Andy – the support of friends is important and necessary at this time – we’re feeling positive, but apprehensive, if you know what I mean!

The New Moon might be an excellent opportunity for me to do a working – I’dlike to catch the tide. Time to get the little grey cells working…

I’d like to think, all you lovely people out there, that I can pay it back for all the support and good wishes. I hope I can.

1 06 2008
Ceri

Greenwitch, I can also identify with all you’re saying here. My husband is looking for a change in his work situation after many years of being with the same organisation. One things for sure, things will always change!
All best wishes and strength to you both.

1 06 2008
The Green Witch

Thank you Ceri – strange, isn’t it, how we all have similar trials at similar times? Very best of luck to your husband in his work life change – I hope he finds what he’s looking for!

Leave a Reply

