Embodied, Embedded Mysticism

30 05 2008

We’ve all been discussing recently, both here, on other blogs and on several forums, how to reach the Divine, how to approach it. How do you seek to be closer to your Gods and Goddesses? I’ve managed to answer this question, but not well; and I feel the people who asked for an answer on this cannot have gone away wholly satisfied with the ideas I shared.

Some do it through ritual, some by complex mantras, some by theatre and music, some by throwing off the robes and dancing, some by fasting and asceticism. Some do it by going apart from the race of man and being still, being quiet.

My idea has always been that the divine is all around, that by seeking to calm oneself and still the internal monologue one can always tap into the constant rill of power that courses through every part of everyone’s life. So the hermitry I joked about several posts ago isn’t as funny as I thought! Of course, there’s no requirement for us to relinquish the world at large; all that is needed is an ability to let it go when required.

This idea has been given a name by Carol P Christ in this post; I think a great many pagans and people of other faith feel this way about the world around us; perhaps it will become a legitimate means by which we seek to align ourselves with the Divine, if it isn’t already. My humble attempts at communication find a label!

Goddess, God; You are everywhere, but I worship You here.

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 05 2008
Andy

I agree that the Divine is all around, the Divine is revealed in All Nature, and we are part of Nature, so the Divine is revealed in us. There is something about being a hermit that appeals, I have to say, but I think also that a major test of a spiritual existence is being able to walk the walk in the mundane world that we have chosen to incarnate in for this time!

31 05 2008
Ceri

I’ve always liked the fact that the Goddess is inherent in all things, not only within the land, sea, and all that lives therein but also in the stars, moon and solar system. She has many names and none. She lives through many traditions and spiritualities sometimes hidden, sometimes repressed but always present.

31 05 2008
The Green Witch

Andy, I agree. The challenge, and the benefit, is facing the world and triumphing; without the engagement with the gnarly and the mundane, we don’t grow.

Ceri – this is an interesting idea and one I’m reading about at the moment! I’m going to be posting something bigger when I get my thoughts in order, but broadly, the ‘many names and none’ is the idea I’m looking to expand upon… too much to read! 🙂

Leave a Reply

