The key is remembering

6 05 2008

Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.George Santayana

This jumped out at me from, of all places, my Facebook profile – there’s a nifty little quotation widget which often gives me pause for thought. Never more so than today.

I’ve spent a lot of time (some might say a disproportionate amount of time) over the past few months, really trying to look hard at my past and to learn lessons to employ in my present and future life. I’ve been trying to recognise that I’m not headed somewhere; that the destination is not the point of the journey.

So often, we keep on reiterating behaviours; we seem stuck in a rut, or dogged by the same run of bad luck. I reckon that at least some of this can be put down to not learning lessons effectively enough.

This is especially relevant to the wider stage; to us collectively as witches. There’s got to be a case to be made for not slavishly claiming a past, but for selectively looking at the past and learning what we can from it. It doesn’t even have to be our past, nor even the one we are seeking to claim for ourselves; history, no matter whose it is, can provide universal truths.

If we do claim a past, a lineage, it’s only reasonable to suppose that we’d look critically at the history we seek to claim and analyse it. It’s not enough to use historical and mythical gravitas as a badge of honour – it’s information, it’s knowledge; and the test of a wise man is the use which he makes of it.

Actions

Information

6 responses

6 05 2008
Andy

I found your comment “I’ve been trying to recognise that I’m not headed somewhere; that the destination is not the point of the journey” fascinating. I think it’s easy for us to get caught up in ‘purpose’ – what is the purpose of my life? Actually, it’s not about doing, it’s about ‘being’ and no more than being who we are – a reclaiming, if you like, of the real me, the real you, without purpose, free from purpose. A letting go of seeking and striving and relaxing into the power of who we truly are (our own true Will) and entering into the power of this. It’s a lesson that’s new to me, but one that I am exploring at the moment.

7 05 2008
The Green Witch

I have found it quite difficult to wrest my focus off getting ‘somewhere’ and onto just enjoying and savouring the journey. Slowing down lets you see all sorts of things along the way. Being free from purpose can be very purposeful!

Will is something I haven’t really faced or addressed except in the most peripheral way – I’m waiting until I have a little more understanding of myself. Perhaps I’ll never be ready. Perhaps realising this is the point! However you look at it, this surely is an amazing journey.

7 05 2008
Ceri

I understand where you’re coming from, a major part of my journey has been the realisation that my past pattern of seeking for knowledge has been part of the process itself. I needed to re-member what I already knew, that I didn’t need to seek and just to ‘be’.
Lovely blog, love its ‘greenness’. Ceri

7 05 2008
The Green Witch

Ceri, thank you for coming by! Glad you like the blog, I was looking around for a real ‘green’ theme and this was by far the best one.

Being is hard. Just biding by can feel pointless, and a bad use of the time we’re given. I actually think it is an essential tool for life. The ‘gotta do more, gotta be more’ school of thought served me for years but it broke me too – now I’m recovered I don’t want to repeat the experience.

We’re here for reasons we can’t know. Now, I think, I just want to slow down and listen; perhaps I’ll find out my purpose if I allow the impression to grow on me.

9 05 2008
fox

TGW, I have come to believe that our purpose here is to just be. To be what the Divine created us as and that is this incredible mass of feelings and emotions and desires and, yes, turmoil and uncertainty. To just live that in whatever way feels right. If we can do that, then we are succeeding just fine.

9 05 2008
The Green Witch

I think you’re right!

Leave a Reply

