Getting Technical

11 03 2008

Wayhey!! I’ve been bought an early birthday present – a domain name and site builder! Now, I’m a Luddite and technically incompetent to a high degree so it won’t be a very good-looking site – but I’m building it at the moment and it should be up soon. There’ll be a little blog and some information pages, an edited BoS and other information. Nothing fancy. Could be fun though!

At the moment I’ve got it set to divert here. Knowing me it’ll take me months to stop faffing with the site and send it live…. but it’s a really enjoyable process – what a great present!

Actions

Information

11 responses

11 03 2008
The Shepton Witch

Cool present! What is your new domain? More to the point, when’s your birthday?

You are going to have hours of fun – building a site can be frustrating, but it’s also incredibly rewarding and entertaining. I know just what to get you for your birthday now!

If you need any help, you know my number…

11 03 2008
The Green Witch

it’s wiccanwanderings.co.uk. Some bugger’s taken the .com and I could strangle them! But actually, the .co.uk is what I was after. I am, after all, English! šŸ™‚

I’m just using the 123-reg site builder at the moment, which isn’t particularly powerful, but I’ve managed to come up with something halfway decent even just pottering about. It’s going to be an expansion of this site really, with more room to put things. Rather like moving house! I’m going to try and fill this blog up a little more and then Blurb it – leave it up but transfer my operations to the new site.

Blurb is fantastic. You exprt your blog to it and it prints you a book. Simple as! I shall coffeetable this blog and keep it for posterity. Not any time soon, though, knowing me!

My birthday is 26th March – when’s yours??

11 03 2008
The Shepton Witch

Sounds great _ I hope i shall get a printed copy? šŸ˜‰

Mine is 29th June – cranky old crab. Your birthday pressie is in the post – sorry it’s early, but if I don’t do things when I think of them, I forget. šŸ˜€

11 03 2008
fox

Looks like the techy web bug is going around! Have lots of fun… and try not to chuck the computer out the window in the process!! šŸ˜€

11 03 2008
The Green Witch

Goddess, Fox – whenever I get a minute, I might do some work on it or play with it!! Here we are, 8.30pm and I’ve only just sat down. Gah!

Mereth – copies will of course be winging their way by broomstick to a coffeetable near you xxx and thank you for thinking of me – you’re a lovely friend!

11 03 2008
The Shepton Witch

Ha! You may hate me by the time you’ve seen what it is!

11 03 2008
The Green Witch

I can’t conceive of a time when I would hate you… mind you, if you’ve got me a sub to The People’s Friend it might be a close-run thing!

11 03 2008
The Shepton Witch

Don’t laugh but I used to work on Yours! otherwise known as Incontinence Weakly and the ABC figures were growing exponentially! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

28 03 2008
The Green Witch

Ha! I like that, Incontinence Weakly!

I’ve given up on 123-reg site builder and will get myself a copy of Dreamweaver. Or else teach myself CSS as well as HTML. Education is never a waste!

28 03 2008
fox

It took me a bit, but once I got the hang of it, I feel in love with Dreamweaver. Well worth the effort if you can get it. I was sadly disappointed to find out that I couldn’t use it with my cart software, but I still use it for my personal site.

28 03 2008
The Shepton Witch

Education is wonderful! It’s a shame you’re not on a Mac as Coda works wonderfully well and is an Nth of the price – it’s what I use. I have dreamweaver as well, which is handy when I get confused with nested tables!

If you’re going to learn it there is one book I’d recommend above all others; it’s in the Head First series and it’s written by Cathy Freeman: Head First HTML with CSS & XHTML. (can you edit out this link perhaps when you’ve read it: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Head-First-HTML-CSS-XHTML/dp/059610197X/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1206723351&sr=8-4)

Ther book takes you from first principles of html right through to builing pretty decent CSS and xhtml sites and it’s all done in a really easy-to-digest way. It’s not the cheapest book, but the pain and head-banging it saves is well worth the money!

You go girl! It’s fun when you get on a roll. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

