For a friend

7 03 2008

I am extremely worried about a friend; she has been having the most terrible week health-wise. Her blood sugar fluctuates to such an extent that it makes her crash as though she had diabetes, but she doesn’t. She has to work every day as she runs her own business, but when she crashes all she can do is go to bed. This, of course, worries her no end.

With my petty ailments which are easily diagnosed and treated, I find myself taking a lesson on relativity; I may feel ill sometimes, and tired and down a lot of the time, but it’s nothing to not being able to get out of bed.

I mainly work through my little megrims; and in any case, I’m employed and subject to the usual rules – sickness pay and the option to take a sick day as holiday and not lose any money. Five days last year in hospital and no appreciable alteration to the bottom line.

What I mean to say is this; my friend wants to be well, she’s actively seeking solutions from many sources, she’s praying about it and she’s really trying to be positive and work through it too. So why is it that the powers that be won’t cut her a break?

 Whatever religion we profess, the questions remain the same; why do the ‘bad’ people have it easy and why do the ‘good’ amongst us have to suffer?

I believe that we are put here to exercise free will and intelligent choice; we have to make the best of the hand we’re dealt in order to learn, grow and move on. We are not here specifically to suffer; but there will be suffering for us all, be it domestic and minor in nature, or the threat of no food or your children dying. This is hard to face.

I want my friend to be well; I’d do anything in order to see her happy and carefree, and pain-free. In fact, all I can do is be an eye to look out for her and an arm to lean on, an ear to listen and a mind to think of things to make even a moment in her day easier.

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 03 2008
Mereth

You know, maybe from her viewpoint, you are something that cheers up her bad times and gives her the impetus to pick herself up and keep going. It may be that her health is not something she can do anything about directly (as I’m certain she would if she could), but having such a good friend must be a huge help – don’t underestimate yourself and what you do!

14 05 2008
Arnametia

I have only just read this but my first thoughts were what a wonderful friend you are!
I am absolutely certain that your friend knows this and that you are a tremendous comfort to her as I am sure she is to you when you need her.

I light a candle for her regularly too, I agree with you totally that she does not deserve to be so poorly. I am wishing good health will come soon for her.
xx

14 05 2008
The Green Witch

I’m glad you’re thinking of her too, Arnametia – the more heads on this, the better!

She’s a wonderful support and light to me as a friend also – I find that there are few like her around the place. I’m grateful that we know each other!

Leave a Reply

