Spring

27 02 2008

It’s coming and now I can see it’s advance guard approaching; warmer days, early sun, daffodils and narcissi and crocuses in the garden. The hellebores are flowering, the magnolias have swelling buds at the tip of every branch. At the end of the afternoon, the soil feels warm to the touch.

I look forward to gardening in a way that I never looked forward to Church. This is a recurrent theme for me, that church = garden. Had I received even an iota of the peace, spiritual calm and well-being, the serenity, the feeling of a job well done that I do from gardening, I’d’ve continued attending church services; well, I’d have had no reason to change.

To watch my Goddess shaking out Her tresses and walking in the dew with me is one that I will never, could never tire of. Being surrounded by Her creation in bloom is a privilege and one of the great pleasures of my life.

Thank you, my Goddess,
for the green trees in Springtime, for the shoots that spring
skyward like a massed cheer to the Sun;
for the flowers that sing Your praises and blow
golden trumpets to Your creation;
Let Your child run
Amidst the beauty of nature awakening;
in the glory of the Goddess, in the birthtime of the buds.
Actions

Information

10 responses

27 02 2008
The Shepton Witch

That’s lovely – it made me smile!

27 02 2008
The Green Witch

A rare burst of fluency – need to capture it while it lasts, lol!

27 02 2008
fox

*sigh* We are still at least a few weeks away from any signs of spring. Not to mention ANOTHER potential snow storm between now and then. I am so jealous! 😀

27 02 2008
Noctiluca

I wish I had the gift of poetry like you do my dear The Green Witch – maybe someday I’ll give it a shot at least. Spring, eh? Everything is still frozen solid here in Iceland, temperatures are expected to drop as low as minus 18 degrees C°.. Still waiting for my physical Imbolg to arrive, although the spirit of Imbolg has been with me in recent days.

27 02 2008
The Green Witch

Minus 4 is as bad as we’ve got this year; I could wish for colder weather and even snow but we just won’t get it. I hope your Imbolc comes to you with melting waters and grass pushing through!

Now I need to plan a ritual for Ostara…. !

27 02 2008
The Green Witch

Fox, I’d swap you a few snowstorms for some snowdrops – boo hoo, no snow for us this year at all!!

28 02 2008
The Shepton Witch

Oh Fox, I’d have loved to see some snow this year, or last for that matter, but it seems to pass Somerset by and though we have had a few frosts, there hasn’t been one flake of snow and I do so love it!

My tulips are up and the flowers opening during the day – snowdrops, helebores, primula and tulips – it’s mad!

29 02 2008
fox

I think the best swap I could offer would be pictures. At this point I would settle for just about anything! 😀

29 02 2008
The Green Witch

I’ll see what I can do!

3 03 2008
The Shepton Witch

I popped up some thumbnails on my blog – they were taken on Saturday 1st March.

Leave a Reply

