Full Moon Comedown

24 01 2008

Who else gets this? I have been making an effort to know where I am with my moon phases, and so have noticed a definite pattern. Hyper at the Full Moon, totally wrung out for a week afterward. This couldn’t have come at a worse time – I’m unmotivated and am also having to work lates two days this week to prepare for a large meeting at the end of next week.

Is there some way to mitigate the effects? Am I psyching myself out? Is this a great case of suggestion? Who knows, but it is something I’ve come to dread in the month, so I wonder if there’s a way to turn it to account and make something positive out of it. This is what I am trying to get into the habit of doing with anything negative that comes my way – it seems a much more practical and useful means of dealing with small reversals of fortune and inopportune happenings, than whingeing about them, and doing nothing.

Actions

Information

5 responses

28 01 2008
Mereth

You only have to ask people in the emergency services about moon phases to know that it does have a huge effect. Ask Vita and she will tell you, chapter and verse, about the differing behaviours that happen through the different phases.

I suppose the vital thing is to try, wherever possible, to plan quieter activities into those phases and keep the high energy stuff for when you’re buzzing – no always possible, but worth trying. Maybe the best thing is to try to schedule the things that you want to push away not the waning phases and the bringing to you things into the waxing phases then, at least, you are not working against natural energies.

I get very emotional and usually up on full moons and very snicky, undiplomatic and vulpine on dark moons; waxing is happy, waning on the glum side. Mind you, I’m so menopausal, that I couldn’t reliably tell you the moon phase from my moods any more! πŸ˜‰

29 01 2008
The Green Witch

Interesting Mereth – I’d heard about this but didn’t know much about it!! Being a gardener you’d think I’d have realised something was up. I seem to always do something on Full Moon that goes from mildly to disastrously wrong – too much energy flying about, perhaps?

30 01 2008
Mereth

Water makes up more than two thirds of the weight of the human body, and without it, humans would die in a few days. The human brain is made up of 95% water, blood is 82% and lungs 90% (facts from http://www.freedrinkingwater.com).

Considering the moon can make such a powerful pull on massive bodies like oceans and seas, it’s hardly surprising that we are affected by its phases! It makes me wonder how the astronauts (assuming they actually went to the moon) were affected by such proximity. Maybe, like earth’s gravity, one is so close to it that it doesn’t have an impact in the same way it does for us, so far away, where we don’t expect to be affected. It certainly must be energy – what else would move tides? Now if we could only learn how not to buck it…!

30 01 2008
The Green Witch

More research needed here, I fancy! I wish I’d bought the book I saw in Hay last week – all about the moon and its effects. Mind, I’ve got so many new books kicking about that I haven’t read that any more on the pile and it might fall over and crush me! πŸ™‚

20 04 2009
celestial enchantris

I generally try and focus on the traditional themes – such as loss during waning moon. Lose that tiredness, lose the negativity, etc. I find that it can help sometimes and i generlaly up my fruit/veg/herb tea intake during this time to combat the tiredness. Also get lots of fresh air and sunlight – even if it’s just spending 5 minutes sitting by an open window.
~Stars Above,
Celestial Rose.

Leave a Reply

